entropyThis 12″ came out in ’93, the first release on the West Coast Hip Hop label Solesides whose roster included other great acts such as Latyrx and Blackalicious. It’s a split release by Asia Born (who later changed his name to Lyrics Born) and DJ Shadow.  Shadow’s song Entropy (by DJ Shadow And The Groove Robbers) is a 17 and a half minute epic divided into 5 parts. All except part 3 (which features vocals by Gift Of Gab) are instrumental, completely contructed out of samples. 

This record was one of the first I ever bought. I started buying vinyl after hearing DJ Shadow’s amazing EP What Does Your Soul Look Like. At the time his only other releases, including this one, were on vinyl so I had to get them. Fifteen years and several crates later I’m still hooked on vinyl. This song takes me back to a time when I found my passion for  music, when labels like Mo Wax, Ninja Tune and Metal Headz were pushing the boundaries of electronic dance music. A great song which still sounds as fresh as it did when it was released!

DJ Shadow And The Groove Robbers – Entropy

